If you have, for whatever reason, decided to delete your Facebook account, here’s how to do it.
When it comes to deleting your Facebook account, you have two options. You can deactivate the account until you change your mind and want to continue using it, or you could delete it permanently.
How to deactivate your Facebook account
Deactivating your Facebook account means it will be hidden from everyone until you decide to use it again. Other Facebook users will not be able to find your profile, your friends will not be able to view your profile, etc. Your profile and all your information will still remain on Facebook servers. If you decide to activate your profile again, all you need to do is log in to Facebook as usual. To deactivate your account:
- Go to Settings and choose “Your Facebook information”. At the bottom, you will see “Deactivating or deleting your Facebook account”. Select “Deactivate account” and proceed. Your account will be deactivated.
How to delete Facebook account
Deleting your Facebook account means Facebook will delete your profile and all information permanently. If you change your mind, you won’t be able to recover your account and will have to create a new one. To delete your account:
- Go to Settings and choose “Your Facebook information”. At the bottom, you will see “Deactivating or deleting your Facebook account”. Select “Permanently delete account” and proceed. Your account will be deleted.